Scientific Executive Committee

Prof. April Armstrong


Dr. Armstrong will coordinate the program and planning of the 7th IFPA Conference. She is Associate Dean of Clinical Research at Keck School of Medicine at USC. In her research, Dr. Armstrong is particularly interested in the appropriate use of systemic agents, comparative effectiveness research, technology-enabled healthcare delivery, and comorbidities associated with inflammatory skin diseases.

Prof. Laura Coates

Co-Chair in Rheumatology

Dr. Coates provides the rheumatological voice to this multidisciplinary committee. Dr. Coates is a Senior Research Fellow at the National Institute for Health and Care Research in Oxford, England. Her research is clinical and focuses on psoriatic arthritis and the spondyloarthritides including early diagnosis of PsA, development of PsA specific and validated outcome measures, optimal treatment pathways and strategies in PsA.

Prof. Ulrich Mrowietz

Co-Chair in Dermatology

Dr. Mrowietz is head of the Psoriasis-Center at the Dept. of Dermatology, University Medical Center Schleswig-Holstein, Campus Kiel. His main research areas in psoriasis include management strategies, drug development and basic research. The Chair of the 6th IFPA Conference, Dr. Mrowietz returns to the SEC as Co-Chair.

Barbra Bohannan


Ms. Bohannan is Coordinator of Policy & Research at Psoriasisförbundet in Sweden. On the Scientific Executive Committee, she is responsible for facilitating the scientific program and speaker selection. Ms. Bohannan is a talented advocate with lived experience with psoriatic disease. This is her fourth IFPA Conference as Secretary to the SEC.