Meet the speakers at IFPA Conference 2024

Lihi Eder

Topic: Assessment and diagnosis of psoriatic arthritis.

Saturday June 29, 11:30-12:00

Dr. Eder is a Clinician-Scientist at Women’s College Research Institute and Associate Professor of Medicine at the University of Toronto, Canada. She has a broad background in rheumatology with specific training and expertise in psoriatic arthritis, musculoskeletal ultrasound, and cardiovascular diseases in rheumatic patients. She is the Director of the Psoriatic Arthritis program at Women’s College Hospital and co-Director of the University of Toronto Cardio-Rheumatology Program.

Dr. Eder’s research focuses on the transition from psoriasis to psoriatic arthritis, attempting to develop clinical and imaging tools to facilitate early diagnosis. She also studies the effect of cardio-metabolic abnormalities on the course of psoriatic disease and evaluates the effect of interventions to improve metabolic burden on cardiac, skin, and joint-related outcomes in this patient population. She was awarded the Canada Research Chair in Inflammatory Rheumatic Diseases (2021-2026) for studying the effects of sex and gender as determinants of rheumatic disease outcomes.

Her research efforts have resulted in over 170 peer-reviewed publications in medical journals, book chapters, and editorials. She is frequently invited to present the results of her studies at national and international conferences in the fields of rheumatology, dermatology, and cardiology. She is an elected member of the Group for Research and Assessment of Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis (GRAPPA) steering committee, Scientific Advisory Committee Member at the National Psoriasis Foundation (NPF), Steering Committee member, Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis Clinics Multicenter Advancement Network (PPACMAN) and President, Canadian Rheumatology Ultrasound Society. As a recognized expert in rheumatology, she received a New Investigator Award from the Arthritis Society (2016), an Early Research Award from the Ontario Ministry of Research Innovation and Science (2018), and an Emerging Investigator Award from the Canadian Rheumatology Association (2023).