Calling for breakthroughs

Established in 2006, the IFPA Conference (also known as the World Psoriasis & Psoriatic Arthritis Conference) provides a unique, cross-specialty platform. Medical and health professionals present frontline clinical research in dermatology, rheumatology and beyond. Delegates can explore psoriatic disease from different perspectives by networking with patients and industry representatives in attendance. The IFPA conference calls for breakthroughs in research that will improve the understanding of all aspects of psoriatic disease.

The next conference will be held 27-29 June, 2024 in Stockholm, Sweden.

The theme of this Conference is: Uncovering the broad spectrum of psoriatic disease


Principles of the IFPA Conference

  • Increase global recognition of the seriousness of the diseases and to develop a broader international perspective of psoriatic disease
  • Encourage collaboration on developing future research and advocacy initiatives.
  • Increase awareness by medical professionals and industry of the role of IFPA and its members in assisting the medical advancement in psoriatic disease.


Developing a scientific program for all

  • Patients in IFPA’s network propose themes in a global survey
  • The Scientific Executive Committee develops the Conference program with patient priorities in focus
  • The Scientific Advisory Board reviews the program for quality assurance
  • The IFPA Conference aligns scientific progress with patient priorities, unleashing breakthroughs for experts of all backgrounds


Prof. April Armstrong


Dr. Armstrong will coordinate the program and planning of the 7th IFPA Conference. She is Associate Dean of Clinical Research at Keck School of Medicine at USC. In her research, Dr. Armstrong is particularly interested in the appropriate use of systemic agents, comparative effectiveness research, technology-enabled healthcare delivery, and comorbidities associated with inflammatory skin diseases.

Prof. Laura Coates

Co-Chair in Rheumatology

Dr. Coates provides the rheumatological voice to this multidisciplinary committee. Dr. Coates is a Senior Research Fellow at the National Institute for Health and Care Research in Oxford, England. Her research is clinical and focuses on psoriatic arthritis and the spondyloarthritides including early diagnosis of PsA, development of PsA specific and validated outcome measures, optimal treatment pathways and strategies in PsA.

Prof. Ulrich Mrowietz

Co-Chair in Dermatology

Dr. Mrowietz is head of the Psoriasis-Center at the Dept. of Dermatology, University Medical Center Schleswig-Holstein, Campus Kiel. His main research areas in psoriasis include management strategies, drug development and basic research. The Chair of the 6th IFPA Conference, Dr. Mrowietz returns to the SEC as Co-Chair.

Barbra Bohannan


Ms. Bohannan is Coordinator of Policy & Research at Psoriasisförbundet in Sweden. On the Scientific Executive Committee, she is responsible for facilitating the scientific program and speaker selection. Ms. Bohannan is a talented advocate with lived experience with psoriatic disease. This is her fourth IFPA Conference as Secretary to the SEC.